Dishes and Wishes

Recipes and Culinary Commentary

Feta Mango Chutney Pita and Thoughts on Sand Witches

Last night I stumbled onto a really satisfying and easy sandwich filling, and it was simply too good and easy to keep to myself. Crunchy, sweet, spicy, salty, and a little protein: it was everything I wanted. And did I mention easy? A good sandwich can be very time consuming, and this isn’t that. (I didn’t even get out the cutting board. I sliced the feta in its package and the cuke in the air.) If you wanted to make this into a fancy tea sandwich, put on some nice bread and cut off the crusts.

  • Whole wheat pita
  • Thinly sliced Feta
  • Thinly sliced Cucumber, peeled first if store-bought
  • Non-fat Greek Yogurt
  • Mango Chutney, I used Patak’s (readily available in most supermarket chains)
Spread one side of the pita with yogurt and the other with chutney. Fill with thinly sliced feta and cucumber slices. If you want to add chopped scallion, thinly sliced red onion, or tomatoes, feel free, but this sammy’s good just the way it is.
Nota Bene on Toasting Pita: Pita will over-toast (and become brittle) on settings that toast bread, so if you’re toasting a pita do it on half-strength. Also, as a teen I was once surprised then chagrined to bite into a just-toasted pita and receive a steam burn on the side of my mouth. That and having a piece of glass in a store-bought sandwich loaf (probably this was when my father was shopping at Food Lion, that Belgian concern) are my oddest bread moments. Caveat me.
Today I think I will indulge on the best of summer sandwiches, the tomato and Hellman’s with salt and pepper. I haven’t had one since… well, I don’t remember, which is a sad state of affairs to be immediately remedied.
Single Post Navigation

Fire Away

